Feel free to contact us anytime

please call: +31 (0)50 367 71 97
or mail your question:

School Holidays

Primary and secondary schools have similar school year calendars. The Ministry of Education determines the dates for the summer, winter and one week May vacation. The other dates are governmental recommendations and can be changed by each school.

The longer summer holidays have staggered start/finish times between three regions (the northern, middle and southern provinces) to prevent families from all going on vacation simultaneously. Be aware that each school also has additional closing days (margedagen). Each school has information on their own exact vacation and closing dates.

In secondary vocational education (MBO) and higher education, institutions are free to set their own holiday dates.

School holidays in public schools include:

  • Autumn Vacation (Herfstvakantie)
  • Winter Vacation (Kerstvakantie)
  • Spring Vacation (Voorjaarsvakantie)
  • Easter weekend (Pasen)
  • King’s Day (Koningsdag)
  • May Vacation (Meivakantie)
  • Ascension Day (Hemelvaart)
  • Whit Monday/Pentecost (Pinksteren)
  • Summer Vacation (Zomervakantie)

More information about the dates of the fixed school holidays and public holidays can be found on the Government’s website.